The Social Network…


In keeping with my status as a habitual late adopter on most everything in life, including the last adult to see most of the trendy movies, The Social Network finally made it to my 42″ LCD screen.  It earned two thumbs up from us.

Far be it for me, though, to cast the first stone toward the film’s main, but questionable, guy.  Yet I would hope by this time both Ellen and Reid would have a clue as to how their mother and I would want them to go about their lives in terms of how they treat other people along with a sense of fairness and  right-and-wrong social balance.  It was never, however, a matter of do-as-I-say, not-as-I-do.  They would have turned out far differently if they had patterned themselves on that credo.

—————-

January 31, 2011

Ellen/Reid: My vote on the Oscars won’t be worth a hoot, but The King’s Speech and True Grit get my two thumbs up.  Of course, those are the only two films I’ve seen as of late so my vote is a little short on all the facts.

I’m still in a state of shock about Jane Hemminger’s book about our September golf trip to Coeur d’Alene.  It is absolutely fabulous.  A short run printing disguised as a hard cover coffee table book.  This really is my first exposure to on-demand printing on this small scale and it just floored me.  It was that good.  I am just so awestruck of Jane and her force of will when it comes to sheer creativity.  She ought to be in this business.  She wrote a cookbook a few years back, it was sort of a nutrition guide for young athletes (I think), so she knows here way around the genre.  If I can ever crank up my tome about you two, I can think of no one better suited as an advisor (Bob F. would be on that short list, too).

I guess you wouldn’t be in the South if the specter of race didn’t rear its head now and again.  A couple of weeks ago when our most recent “snow storm” occurred, the few inches of snow closed the schools for a few days.  The superintendent and the board, along with a committee that had spent months talking about how to schedule make up days, thought that Monday, January 17 – Martin Luther King day – would be a good substitute since there were no other holidays in the foreseeable future and weekends weren’t so hot.  But the backlash was incredible from the black community.  The NAACP leader called Charlotte a “racist bastion” plus other harsh words.  How dare the school board disrespect (disrespect is not a real word, I don’t think) the black community but scheduling – heaven forbid – education on that holiday?  I didn’t get it then, and I don’t get it now.  If Dr. King were alive, I suspect he would think that might be the best way to honor him: keep kids in class to give them an education.  But people went bonkers.  Absenteeism for the day topped 28,000.  Ellen, I know you wrestle with getting parents involved in the classroom, but wouldn’t children have been better served if these parents would have volunteered to help in classes to educate kids about honoring Dr. King?  I just don’t get it.  It’s basically a lot of B.S. since so many people across the race spectrum at least have a sense of civility and respect for Dr. King’s cause, and now it’s out the window.  The race card should’ve been put back in the deck.

So in the February issue of my church newsletter, I convinced my pastor, John, to have a couple of our members write about their take on the controversy, from a Christian perspective of course.  We have a pretty diverse little church congregation: black/white, gay/straight, homeless/well-to-do.  I’ll be interested in seeing what my two volunteer writers come up with.  It’s going to be a good issue.  You can see the back issues online at Caldwellpresby.org.  The newsletter is a lot of fun for me, creatively speaking, and is a measure of atonement for sins past, present and future.

Betsy just pinged me that she got a new job at the bank, with more bucks, no less.  She is really good at what she does and knows the people and knows how to get things done.  She is the poster child for going about it the right way.  If only I were in such demand.  Some day.

I wish there were a better update on your grandmother.  It appears to be a matter of time now, although I hope to be wrong on that score.  Not much is going right for her but she’s a pretty strong woman and perhaps she can bounce back one step at a time.  I’ll keep you up to speed.  But in the spirit of Betsy doing the right things, time for me to get back at it and do the right things, too.  Be good, and hope to see you both sooner than later.

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

