Sept. 30, 7:32 p.m…


The inevitable did come to pass Friday night.  Mom passed away peacefully in Wood River, Nebr.  There are a lot of conflicting emotions which range from thankfulness that Barbara had minimal, if any, suffering to a personal guilt that mixes grief with my own selfish relief that the process is finished, too.

I’m in Omaha this morning.  My brother and I have wrapped up most of the details about the service.  Family begins to arrive about noon (Reid has already notified me that traffic to O’Hare in Chicago is awful and that he may miss his flight, but I’ve assured him that whenever he gets here is fine.  No biggie.)  My ‘bro and me need to be at the funeral home about 3:00 to make sure everything is in order.  The visitation is this evening and the internment and funeral are Friday morning.

I’m supposed to speak for the family, but already have deep misgivings about what will be said and how.  There’s too much effort spent on wordsmithing rather than just letting it flow.  It is both frustrating and maddening.  It doesn’t need to be perfect, just heartfelt.  At this point I’m pretty much addled and in a daze so it will be what it will be. 

I’ve heard from lots of friends by e-mail and some by phone, and for that I am appreciative.  As you know, too, much of this has a surreal quality about it.  We’ll get by this and keep moving forward.  That’s what the survivors do, I guess.

4 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

4 responses to “Sept. 30, 7:32 p.m…

  1. Judy Wilson

    Dave: Joel and I are sorry about your Mom. Our condolensces are sent your way and to your family. It is difficult to lose a family member, no matter the cause or time to prepare for this event. Hope you are well and our thoughts and prayers are with you.
    Judy

  2. Just got word… sorry Dave. Nobody deserves it, but everyone has to deal with it, and you’re a guy who can be counted on at times like this. She was a wonderful person.
    Mort

  3. Becky Cady

    So sorry to hear about your Mom , Dave. With deepest sympathy,

    Mark and Becky

  4. Betsy Hall

    Dave… Bob and I send you and Ralph and your families our thoughts and prayers today. We are sorry about the loss of your mother. Know that she has found peace and that she lived a good life. See you soon.
    Betsy

Leave a Reply

