Renting a Harley in Portland, OR


Someone asked recently if I sign the letters  ‘Love, Dad.’ You bet, every single time, usually in blue ink. I’ll make such a notation on the blog from here on out.

————–

March 25, 2013

Ellen/Reid: I suppose this is the time in life (mine, not yours) when we begin to fixate on health and all that getting older stuff. I posted a ‘Live for today’ item last week and now it’s really starting to sink in. Dave Hemminger emailed me this morning along those lines. Mort just sent me an email about ‘taking this

The rest of life may be speeding up but this make-shift turtle is going nowhere fast. He/she has been on our sidewalk for the better part of two weeks.

The rest of life may be speeding up but this make-believe turtle is going nowhere fast. He/she has been on our sidewalk for the better part of two weeks. Origin of the slow poke is unknown.

all for granted.’ More and more of the news exchanged between me and my friends will probably reflect this reality of getting along in age. Hell, I don’t care. It is what you make of it. Bring on the Heritage Softail and golf. Why not? Seems to be a running topic of conversation in the 60+ geezer bracket.

Reid, I’m still not certain where you were last week. Santa Barbara? Elsewhere? You could do worse for a weekend. After watching Butler sag at the end to lose to Marquette (FYI…Ellen Hemminger is headed there. We can only hope she likes Wisconsin winters) and not hearing from you, then I knew you were out of town. Ellen, your California pictures looked fun. Equally fun would have been looking at the dumpy weather up in the Twin Cities while you were slathering on SPF 50 sunscreen. Emma is going to be a little traveler. Right now the wheels are turning toward air tickets to her 1st birthday. She won’t have to sit the entire weekend as someone will be holding her. It’s going to be a grandparent-palooza. You’d better get more storage for more clothes and more toys. It’s hard to believe she will be a year old. Reid, if you want to head up for the celebration, let me know and I’ll make arrangements. I may head up a day or so early to drive halfway to Des Moines on Friday to see Steve Allen who may bop up for lunch.

My blog class at Central Piedmont Community College wrapped up last week. This was a group of the most go-getting students I’ve yet had. They asked questions that had me hem and haw and stammer and stutter.  They taught me more than perhaps they got from me. Their topics were all over the map from mid-life issues to crafting to pop culture. It was fun and not nearly so much work as other groups I’ve had, not to say they were bad, but this was just a bunch of folks seriously interested in blogging. Thanks to this crew a bunch of ideas for my new blog came to the surface. A guy’s gotta have something to do in his golden years. Did I just say that?  There you go.

The palm leafs are from this past Sunday at Caldwell Presbyterian.

Almost no attention was paid to NCAA basketball this weekend. Butler was the only one that had my ear pinned to the ground. Now that they are out then I don’t much care. I think your uncle is perturbed at me since I didn’t fill out the brackets other than the first day games, in which I got punked. My productivity didn’t drop off a minute when the games got going. Even Butler’s first game was Tevoed.

With the Bridger Wilderness apparently biting the dust this summer due to Tom’s situation,

No setting up and readying all my Bridger Wilderness gear in the living room this year. The trip is delayed one year while Tom Bohr heals up.

No setting up and readying all my Bridger Wilderness gear in the living room this year. The trip is delayed one year while Tom Bohr heals up.

Felicia and I are scrambling to find something else/somewhere else to go. The early front runner is renting a Harley in Portland, OR and cruising the Oregon and Washington coastline. We’ll no doubt head down to Salem to see cousin Tom and maybe up to Vancouver to see cousin Jen. We haven’t picked dates yet but it seems doable. We might dip the tires into California since I’ve never ridden that state.

I have a new boss who is stationed in Arizona so the time change difference could be a bit of an issue but she seems nice enough. Not that I think things won’t go well or that I’m looking at the retirement clock, but it’s at a shade under 35 months at this accounting.

Love, Dad

Leave a comment

Filed under Writing to adult children

Leave a Reply

