The false readings of a bathroom scale…


Maybe it’s my age, maybe it’s my metabolism. One way or another, the bathroom scale and me aren’t in sync.

—————–

August 20, 2013

Ellen/Reid: Monday just got away from me, it was go-go-go, so this is written first thing Tuesday morning. It’s another damp, cloudy and – mostly likely – rainy day. Depressing, and more what you’d expect in Seattle. I couldn’t deal with this all the time but we’ll make do.

They talk about August being the ‘dog days’ and they’re not kidding. Really have a case of the blahs and all that goes with it, and there’s a lot. The bathroom scale continues to display blatently false readings

My archenemy awaits to torment me with lies, lies, lies. It's probably too late to return it to the factory for obvious defects.

My archenemy awaits to torment me with misrepresentations and lies, lies, lies. It’s probably too late to return it to the factory for obvious defects.

after hitting the gym, and the zip isn’t there in my workouts or walks. I’m behind on my blogs and no worthy posts come to mind. Maybe it’s the back-assward politics down here. In all, it’s gotta be like running a marathon – you just sort of gain a head of steam to run through that wall, or you at least you figure out a way to go around it. The one thing that I am looking forward to is Thanksgiving with you guys. That keeps me going.

Reid, keep me up to speed on the job thing. Sounds like some good possibilities. The digital world has to be where it’s at these days for a lot of companies who are just now getting their arms around it. You would be the ideal one to help them with that. Ellen, Emma sassing on your front porch was hilarious. That back talk reminds me that the apple doesn’t fall far from the tree, if you get my drift. It’s good she shows a little spunk and independence. She’ll need that mind of her own. That applied to you, too, Reid. We didn’t nickname you Razzmatazz for nothing.

My friend Ann the ex-bank exec continues to prod me on retirement. Now she’s wanting me to pick a date. The only thing that comes to mind if Feb. 8 but I haven’t decided if that’s in ’14 or ’15. I’m leaning toward the former. John and I have to come to a meeting of the fiscal minds so we can see if things are at least feasible. Ann thinks I have a future as a grant writer although I have absolutely no clue how to find those clients or what to say. I might pick your mom’s brain on that one.

I’ve been reading about the discharge of highly radioactive water from the tsunami-damaged nuclear plant in Japan. Scientists are beginning to chart the flow of the leakage into and across the Pacific and it doesn’t look good. You wonder what it does to the ocean’s fisheries. That stuff just doesn’t fade away anytime soon. Mercury in your tuna may be the least of your worries. We let all this abundant sunshine go to waste and we persist in doing the bad stuff. We will get what we deserve.

I went to a zoning meeting last night. The big 5.2 acre expanse behind us is going to make way for 35 homes, some starting in the $5-mil range. That’s a lot of money for a very small chunk of land.

The greenbelt has a nice canopy to it, and we watch the deer, hawks and other wildlife on a daily basis. If developers take chain saws to it, they'd have to cut through the chains that would bind me to one of the larger trees.

The greenbelt has a nice canopy to it, and we watch the deer, hawks and other wildlife on a daily basis. If developers take chain saws to it, they’d have to cut through the chains that would bind me to one of the larger trees.

We heard the platitudes about the builder making ‘quality homes’ and such but what I really wanted to know was are they going to cut our greenbelt down. As it looks now, the answer is ‘no.’ They want a green buffer between the northern most mega-home and the units that are directly behind us. Of course, I’m not entirely confident in their statements so I’ll head to the city council meeting in a few weeks about this issue. That was really the only thing I was concerned about hearing was the loss of trees and the privacy/wildlife view they afford us. I understand progress and land use but if the trees were scalped all the way to the creek – and heaven forbid they would have replaced it with a %^&*# culvert – I would have been really pissed. But they didn’t and for the time being I am content. Construction will start in early spring ’14. I wanted to ask ‘when was the last time a zoning request was denied?’ but I didn’t. They don’t send this much money knowing full well they can easily crush the citizenry.

Love, Dad

Leave a comment

Filed under Writing to adult children

Leave a Reply

