Of a job lost and a list made …


As some of you know, the hammer came down at 9:15 this morning; as of 9:22 I no longer worked for Bank of America. It was as cordial as I could make it. How else should it have been? It’s my way.

When the chairman mentioned the continued need for ‘expense reduction’ during his 3rd quarter earnings report a few weeks ago, that put the writing on the wall – in indelible ink – for many of us. I am no longer an expense.

Ellen and Reid got the news first by phone – I just love the supportive, ‘Dad, it’s okay’ way they handled it – and my four prior supervisors shortly thereafter.

So now speeding down the tracks comes the rest of whatever it is that is in front of me. I was at a momentary loss for what to do – until I scratched out this list. It’s in pencil, but might as well be in stone:

I thought about this list as I drove to Starbucks for a stiff cup of coffee. Some of the elements may be out of order, but the basic tenets are in place. What remains to be seen is how each will pan out - or if the list will expand or contract.

I thought about this list as I drove to Starbucks for a stiff cup of coffee. Some of the elements may be out of order, but the basic tenets are in place. What remains to be seen is how each will pan out – or if the list will expand or contract.

7 Comments

Filed under Writing to adult children

7 responses to “Of a job lost and a list made …

  1. Josh yauney

    Very thoughtful list Dave….you are a blessed man! If you ever feel a bit lost just refer to your list…it’s the best map I have seen in years!

    Your friend,
    Josh yauney

  2. Brenda

    Now we can play golf during a weekday. I love my retirement and you will also after the period of adjustment.

  3. Denis Pringle

    Sorry to get this news; reminds me of my exit from Wells 2 years ago. I would like to help if I can be of service. Do you want to stay in banking? Denis

    Sent from my iPhone

    >

    • Denis: I wouldn’t mind working – banking would be okay – but will likely try to find something that involves writing. Right now I’m not sure how to proceed on that score. But I’m game for it.

  4. jacobsbranch

    Lists are good – actions are better! When actions are unclear – refer to list! This may be the best journey you’ve ever undertaken and it’s only just beginning. Congratulations!

Leave a Reply

