A stale house and the idiot …


You could chalk it up to shorter, darker days or cold and clammy weather or other seasonal affective disorders but damn, these past couple of months have been pure hooey.

Much of the disarray/disfunction and gloom-and-doom is utterly self-inflicted. There’s been a smattering of good news here and there, but geez, enough already. A ray of sunshine, though, is Reid and I connect in 10 days. And not a moment too soon.

(My note: no doubt you notice typos in the letters. This week’s one pager is no exception. I seldom re-read a letter as it is written. If a mistake is noticed as I type, it is fixed on the fly. Otherwise, after 10 or 15 minutes of writing, the pages are printed and are out the proverbial door. No effort is made to correct the errors for the blog. What was mailed is what you see, warts and all.)


December 5, 2016

Ellen/Reid: Well, there was one bright spot in a weekend otherwise marked by recuperating from a cold and sore throat; there were visitors very interested in the house but they have to sell their home first and their hope is my place is still available if/when their home finds a buyer. We can only wish that would become true. At this point I’m so close to the forest I can’t see the trees in terms of what needs to be done next to make the place marketable or at least draw more lookers. Until the visitors Saturday, there was some thought to yanking the listing lest it be seen as stale or viewed as a home with something wrong.

Ellen, glad to help on the mirror for the girl’s bathroom and the zoo. Reid, let me know what you want; Harvard Business Review or something else. And if anything remains on your most-wanted list, let me know that, too. Not a lot of attention was paid to Black Friday and all that other shopping hoopla. Just another excuse to spend money.

Alas, the tree isn’t up yet. That was on this weekend’s bucket list but I just didn’t have much energy to get off the couch. It’ll go up sometime this week. Reid, I take the car in later today for service that should prep it for the trek to Florida in a couple of weeks. I re-upped my Florida non-resident fishing license yesterday so Miss Emma and I can hit the saltwater if there’s any time to do so in the midst of the Christmas visit. Just let Liz know I’m very appreciative of the kind offer to intrude on her family time.

My good friends Sondra and Jody and Ted will head down to Hilton Head to use the timeshare, which is reserved Dec. 24-31. Reid, I will likely shove off from Marco Island on the 26th so I can join them for a few days on the way home from Florida. Since we have to check out on New Year’s Eve, the thinking is we’ll gravitate to Savannah or Charleston for the Dec. 31 celebration. We’re not sure which as of yet. It’ll be nice to have people use the unit rather than let it sit idle. This whole time share thing has kind of gotten out of control; I’ve been thinking of selling my share in the unit but am uncertain of how to go about it. Really, it has been completely squandered in terms of use over the past decade. Hilton Head has been so close yet so far. What an idiot.

I made another idiotic mistake earlier this summer on my Medicare for retirees. Just before I left to see you guys and drive on to Wyoming, a notice came from Social Security and I didn’t even open it, thinking it could wait for my return. Wrong. It was a payment notice for my monthly Medicare expense – and I missed the deadline and my Medicare Part A (medical insurance) was cancelled. Now, as a penalty, I have to wait for open enrollment in January with coverage not set to resume until July, 2017. I just couldn’t be more stupid and have kicked/cursed myself repeatedly over the past few days. Bob F., whose been counseling people on Medicare and Social Security, thinks I can appeal the error and I’ll try to do that this week. It has just been a complete downer that I brought upon myself.

On the flip side, it’s been great to get down to Charleston for fishing. It really is the best time of year to do go after fish. The cooler waters has tended to draw them in from the open ocean and they also tend to school a bit more at this time of year.

img_2481

Can fish be friends? A bright spot for me has been the down-and-back escapades to Charleston to fish for beauties like this slot black drum. With a kiss on the snout and a shove into the drink, most of these biggies return to King Flats Creek.

That’s the real deal, finding the schools and that’s where the structure like the barge is a big help. Hopefully if I’m feeling up to it, I’ll head down this Wednesday for another stab at it. It really is fun. Tim sent me a YouTube clip about tailing reds south of Charleston and from what could be seen, Miss Emma and I are on waters very close to it. If they tide cooperates, I’ll loosen myself from the barge long enough to paddle into the shallows to see what we might find. It would be great to see tails swooshing around, let alone have something bite.

Love, Dad

Leave a comment

Filed under Writing to adult children

Leave a Reply

